Your download link has been sent!
Deep clean your X (Twitter) account
Take action to:
Protect against account takeovers
Mass delete your old tweets
Opt out your data from AI models
Mass block negative accounts
Block Party is a browser extension that deep cleans your social media, notifications, settings, and more in one click.
Block Party’s recommendations for deep cleaning your X account:
Opt your data out of AI model training
Protect your data by opting out of sharing your content and activity with X's AI search assistant, Grok. This will prevent X from using your posts or user interactions, inputs, and results to shape and train their AI models.
Keep your post locations private
Given the real-time nature of X, sharing your location on specific posts is risky and opens you up to stalking, especially if you're located in a smaller town or city.
- Remove existing Location information attached to your posts
- Stop Location information from being attached to future posts
Mute unwanted notifications
Control which notifications you receive to reduce noise in your mentions. Accounts that were recently created or that have a default profile photo are more likely to engage in trolling behavior. However, you may miss updates about content you do want to see if it doesn't meet your notification criteria.
- Mute notifications from people who You Don't Follow
- Mute notifications from people who Don't Follow You
- Mute notifications from people with a New Account
- Mute notifications from people with a Default Profile Photo
- Mute notification from people who Haven't Confirmed Email
- Mute notifications from people who Haven't Confirmed Phone Number
Restrict app access to your location
If you grant the X mobile app access to your location, you may be targeted with location-specific ads, and it may be easier to include your location in posts in ways you do not intend.
- Find Settings on your device and tap Privacy
- Select Location Services
- Look through the list of apps and find X
- Select Never
Restrict audio and video calls
By default, X enables audio and video calls from anyone in your address book or who you follow on X. Following a large number of users increases the likelihood you will receive audio and video harassment or spam from online abusers. This setting is currently only available within the mobile app.
- Find Settings in the X app on your mobile device
- Type Direct Message at the top of the search bar
- Toggle off Enable Audio and Video Calling
Limit how your account can be found
Allowing others to look you up by phone number or email may expose the identity of an anonymous or private account. If you turn off this setting, X will also not use your address book contacts to suggest your account to others. Your friends can still find you by searching for your display name or X handle.
- Don't allow People Who Have Your Email Address to find you on X
- Don't allow People Who Have Your Phone Number to find you on X
Review sessions
X allows you to see all the places where you are logged in and selectively log out any that do not seem familiar. If your account has been compromised, you may be able to identify suspicious logins and remove them.
- Visit Sessions
- Scroll down to Log Out Other Sessions
- Review where your account is currently logged in
- If you see a suspicious login, click on it
- Click Log Out the Device Shown
Use two-factor authentication
Two-factor authentication is an essential part of keeping your account secure. If your password is compromised, two-factor authentication provides another layer of protection for your account.
- Open Two-Factor Authentication
- Choose the two-factor authentication method that fits your needs
- Follow the setup instructions
Only with Block Party
If you're looking to deep clean even more, here are powerful automations by Block Party that can help.
Block a post's author and reposters
Blocking lets you control who can interact with you on X by preventing those accounts from following you, messaging you, or ending up in your activity notifications. Mass block a post's author and reposters to never hear from them again (quote posters excluded).
Delete your posts
Clear your history on X by deleting your posts, reposts, quote posts, and replies on your timeline. You can download an archive of your posts before deleting.
Remove your likes
Limit what X knows about you by unliking all of the posts you previously liked. Even though likes are no longer visible to other users, the data can still be used by X for content targeting or AI model training.
Leave direct messages
Protect against potential exposure of private communications through account takeover, platform insider threats, data breaches, or changes in platform policies. Note that messages are only fully deleted when removed by all parties, so you may consider asking participants through another platform to delete their copies.